assured standardtaxi how muchupdown
Get a Free Insurance Quote Today

    Home
    Commercial Truck Insurance
    Florida Commercial Trucking Insurance

    Florida Commercial Trucking Insurance

    The trucking business is essential to Florida’s and the nation’s economy. With heavy motor vehicles weighing 80,000 pounds or more sharing the roadways with much smaller cars, strict laws and regulations are critical to secure everyone on the road. When truck drivers or trucking businesses ignore their legal duties, they put everyone at risk for a devastating tragedy.

    That said, commercial trucks are essential to the nation's economy because they travel billions of miles through the nation's highways and byways to transport essential goods. Unfortunately, the liability associated with this important service is nearly equal to the number of miles driven.

    Requirements For Commercial Trucking Insurance In Florida 

    In order to register a commercial truck in Florida, you must carry a certain amount of insurance coverage. Florida's minimum requirements vary based on the weight of your truck. Numerous insurance providers offer coverage to match any need, but the key to saving money is comparing options. 

    Florida commercial truck insurance providers can provide liability limits of up to $1,000,000. There are higher limits available.

    State minimum requirements (depends on the weight of the vehicle):

    At least $10,000Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
    At least $10,000Property Damage Liability
    $125,000 per personUp to $250,000 per occurrenceBodily Injury Liability

    Florida Commercial Truck Insurance has the following minimum insurance requirements for larger commercial trucks:

    • For a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds or more — but less than 35,000 pounds — the fine is $50,000 per incident.
    • $100,000 per incident for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of at least 35,000 pounds but less than 44,000 pounds.
    • $300,000 per incident for a commercial vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of at least 44,000 pounds.
    • A breach of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction, penalized as a nonmoving violation.

    What Commercial Trucking Insurance Covers In Florida

    What Commercial Trucking Insurance Covers

    As with most other vehicle insurance policies, a trucking and transportation policy includes various coverage options. Each insurance coverage is designed to safeguard your business and personal assets against catastrophic loss. Your trucking company's required coverage may include:

    Primary Liability CoverageThis can protect you against the liability risks you will face if you or one of your employees is deemed to be at fault in an accident. Your liability insurance will cover bodily injury claims, giving financial assistance for the injured party's medical expenditures. In addition to bodily injury, your liability policy will also cover property damage. If legal action is taken against you as a result of the accident, your liability insurance will pay the expense of your defense, regardless of whether you are found at fault.
    Physical DamageThis is the part of your Commercial Trucking Insurance coverage you must pay to repair or replace your own vehicle in the event of an accident or other incident. Both comprehensive damage caused by theft, vandalism, animals, or harsh weather and collision damage caused by an accident can be covered.
    Underinsured or Uninsured Motorists InsuranceIf your vehicle is destroyed or you are injured in an accident caused by a driver without enough or no insurance coverage at all, this policy will pay for the damages. In Florida, uninsured drivers are only responsible for medical coverage, not property damage.
    Cargo CoverageIf the items your vehicle is transporting are destroyed or lost during shipment, you will need this insurance to cover the situation.

    Cost Of Commercial Trucking Insurance In Florida 

    In Florida, the average cost of truck insurance is $15,522.

    The average premium ranges between $12,648 and $17,856.

    These rates are based on truckers with a single truck who require liability, cargo, and physical damage insurance. There are a number of factors that affect the cost, including what you are transporting, your driving history, and the length of time you have been in business.

    Motor Vehicle Registrations In Florida

    A valid registration is required to operate a vehicle on Florida roads, and vehicles with out-of-state registrations must be registered within ten days of the owner obtaining employment, enrolling children in public school, or establishing residency. Full registration includes the following:

    • A metal plate (number on the plate must correspond to the number on registration and decal) affixed to the vehicle in the designated area in accordance with section 320.38 of the Florida Statutes
    • A valid registration certificate must be in the operator's possession or carried in the vehicle at all times, per Florida Statute 320.0605
    • A registration decal is a sticker that is attached to the certificate of registration. The validation decal must be affixed to the upper right corner of the Florida license plate

    This complete set is proof that vehicle registration taxes and fees have been paid.

    If you are a member of the military or a veteran, please visit the Military and Veteran Information Section of the department.

    Commercial Driver License (CDL)

    Every applicant for a Commercial Driver's License must possess a valid Operator's License and meet the vision requirements. Applicants must be 18 years of age or older. Applicants under 21 will only be permitted to operate within the state.

    Read here for more information.

    International Registration Plan

    International Registration Plan (IRP) is a reciprocal agreement that permits proportional registration of commercial motor vehicles among the jurisdictions (states) in which they operate. This means that if a truck is operated in multiple jurisdictions, the owner must report the mileage driven in each state yearly, and registration fees are paid proportionally based on the mileage driven in each state. The good news is that the owner only pays these fees to one jurisdiction, known as the base jurisdiction or base state. Vehicle owners are required to register their vehicle(s) under IRP if:

    • is greater than 26,000 pounds gross vehicle (GVW)
    • Has at least three axles regardless of load
    • Is a generator and trailer whose combined GVW exceeds 26,000 pounds
    • Belongs to a fleet that currently runs in Florida and at least one other IRP jurisdiction

    Read here for more information.

    International Fuel Tax Agreement

    Additionally, the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) is a reciprocal agreement between states. IFTA simplifies fuel tax reporting for interstate motor carriers by enabling them to file a single quarterly report to their base jurisdiction instead of filing separately with each jurisdiction through which they traveled. To obtain an IFTA license using Florida as your base jurisdiction, you must comply with the following requirements:

    • Have qualified vehicle(s) — these are commercial motor vehicles according to the IRP
    • Have a physical location in Florida from which motor carrier operations are conducted
    • Gain a portion of your miles in Florida
    • Maintain your fleet's operating records in Florida, or make them available in Florida
    • Operate in at least one other IFTA member state

    Read here for more information.

    Frequently Asked Questions 

    Below are some of the frequently asked questions regarding vehicle registration in Florida:

    How much is a DOT number in FL?

    The FMCSA filing fee for an MC Number/USDOT Number is $300.

    What is the difference between a dot number and MC number?

    A US DOT number helps identify interstate carriers, while an MC number detects interstate carriers transporting regulated commodities for hire. Items altered from their natural state are typically regulated commodities requiring an MC number.

    Does Florida require intrastate authority?

    Florida requires registration of intrastate trucks with the Department of Transportation. Either a valid US DOT number or Florida registration number must be displayed on all trucks.

    Quick Car Accident Statistics In Florida

    On Florida's roadways, nobody expects to be involved in an accident. Unfortunately, this is a remarkably common occurrence throughout the state. In 2021, according to the FLHSMV, there were:

    • 401,179 traffic accidents
    • 3,467 total fatal crashes
    • 163,925 total injuries suffered in traffic crashes
    • 6,400 auto accidents that involved bicyclists
    • 186 bicyclist fatalities resulting from those crashes
    • 8,638 motorcycle accidents
    • 593 motorcycle fatalities
    • 9,552 total pedestrian accidents
    • 847 pedestrian fatalities

    Other Insurance Types

    Since different truck insurance companies like different types of risks, it’s wise to shop around and find a provider that is competitive with writing insurance for your individual situation. The bottom line is that you want cheap vehicle insurance without losing coverage.

    assured standard logo
    Assured Standard will protect your business with the right insurance, depending on your needs. Now more than ever, it’s crucial to have the right general liability insurance experts on your side. Protecting the future of your business starts today.
    Copyright © 2022 Assured Standard. All Rights Reserved.
    linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram