How Much Is The Fine For No Proof Commercial Truck Insurance In AZ?

How Much Is The Fine For No Proof Commercial Truck Insurance In AZ?
by Arthur Williamson

Driving without car insurance in Arizona can result in severe consequences like fines going beyond $1,000, and filing an SR-22 certificate.

We all know that commercial trucking is dangerous, which is why it is important to have insurance. It's estimated that 130,000 people are injured every year in accidents that involve commercial trucks. Moreover, 70% of these crashes result in property damage, while 22% include injuries to people on the road or the drivers themselves. Regardless of how serious they are, Arizona truck insurance can deflect those costs from you and onto your insurer.

Penalties For Not Having Commercial Truck Insurance

Those who run commercial motor vehicles in Arizona are obligated to follow both federal and state rules. Moreover, penalties can be imposed if you do not follow the provisions of either body of legislation. A civil penalty or a criminal penalty may be imposed for breaking one of the commercial motor vehicle regulations.

Civil Penalty 

As per A.R.S. § 28-5245, despite section 28-5240, a violation of this chapter's equipment or any rule made under this chapter is a civil traffic violation except if the violation necessitates the issuance of an out-of-service order according to section 28-5241. 

This means that if a driver or motor carrier breaches an out-of-service order, this may also constitute a civil traffic violation (A.R.S. § 28-5241). Furthermore, a civil penalty may be imposed on a driver who breaches or disregards an out-of-service order. This penalty is approximately $2,500 for the first infraction or failure to comply and $5,000 for each subsequent violation. 

Also, motor carriers may face a civil penalty ranging from $2,750 to $25,000. Those who breach the out-of-service order may also suffer a temporary loss of their commercial driver's license. (A.R.S. § 28-3312)

A shipper, manufacturer, motor carrier, or the continued operation of a motor vehicle by a driver may be suspended under A.R.S. 28-5232 if they are a danger to public safety. A person who is the subject of a suspension order has the right to protest the continuance of the suspension as well as a civil penalty. This infraction carries a fee that escalates with each subsequent violation. Violations are also more likely to occur when hazardous items are involved. (A.R.S. 28-5238

Criminal Penalty

In addition to the civil penalties that may be imposed, A.R.S. 28-5240 provides that a shipper, manufacturer, or motor carrier who continues to operate or causes to be used a commercial motor vehicle in breach of this chapter or who willfully violates or fails to comply with any provision of this chapter or any rule adopted under this chapter is guilty of the following:

  • First Offense: A Class 2 misdemeanor
  • Second Offense: A Class 1 misdemeanor
  • For Subsequent Offenses: A Class 6 felony

If you are convicted of a criminal offense, it can result in fines or jail time.

If you wish to know more about primary liability insurance, check out Assured Standard’s blog for a deep understanding of how it works.

assured standard logo
Assured Standard will protect your business with the right insurance, depending on your needs. Now more than ever, it’s crucial to have the right general liability insurance experts on your side. Protecting the future of your business starts today.
Copyright © 2021 Assured Standard. All Rights Reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram