For truck owners looking to renew their registration in the state of California, having proof of insurance is essential. It is a legal requirement to submit proof of insurance within 30 days of being issued a registration card, otherwise, your registration may be suspended. This can be done in person or through the mail.
If you’re on a budget, a truck insurance agent can help you find a more affordable insurance plan to comply with legal requirements. This is because California’s insurance laws state that individuals who own or operate motor vehicles should be able to provide monetary protection to those injured or affected in the event of a vehicle accident.
Unfortunately, you can only renew your truck registration online if your auto insurance company electronically reports to the DMV. You’ll also need a credit card, debit card, or checking account, to know your vehicle’s VIN or HIN, have insurance for your vehicle, have a required smog certificate on file.
Otherwise, you can go through the DMV Virtual Office. This process may take longer than their online process.
In the event that you provide false proof of insurance, you may be penalized by the Vehicle Registration Financial Responsibility Program. You’ll also need to provide a replacement policy within 45 days to the DMV if your vehicle’s insurance policy was canceled.
To reinstate your vehicle registration, you’ll need to submit your proof of insurance and a $14 reinstatement fee. If you have more questions about renewing your registration in California, contact the DMV here.
Learn more about where to find affordable commercial truck insurance policies at Assured Standard today!
Ora Price is a licensed insurance producer. Since she majored in Finance at the University of San Diego, she knows how to deal with both clients and insurance providers alike.